How do you like to show love?

Is it a comforting word, a big hug, or a homecooked meal? Understanding the ways you like to give and receive love can help you bridge communication gaps in your partnership or friendship – and help you appreciate each other more.

What are the five love languages?

Words of Affirmation

This one is all about the words! Those with this love language love to hear ‘I love you’, but also other words of appreciation – make sure to compliment your partner regularly to show them that you care.

Quality Time

Those with quality time for their love language prioritise time spent together – without the distractions! Switch off your phone and enjoy a meal together with lots of laughs, conversation, and cuddles.

Acts of Service

For some, there is nothing nicer than an unexpected act of kindness. Try getting up a bit early to make your partner a coffee or grab their favourite takeaway on the way home from work as a fun surprise.


Remember, it’s not about the money! Those who give and receive love through gifts enjoy the feeling of knowing their special person has picked out something just for them. When you give gifts, take some time to think about what your loved one would truly enjoy.

Physical Touch

Physical signs of affection are the most important indicator of love for some. Something as simple as cuddling up to your partner on a cold winter’s night, or holding their hand at the shops can mean the world!

Relationship Counselling at Life Resolutions

At Life Resolutions, we’re dedicated to helping all relationships not just survive, but thrive. If you’d like to chat to our relationship counsellors, contact us today online or over the phone. You can also visit our website to learn more about the work we do at Life Resolutions.